< PIG >

“I chose CANDY as the album title because the songs may seem sweet, inviting and harmless at first glance, but ‘candy’ suggests there’s something sinister beneath,” says the patron saint of pain Raymond Watts of post-punk stalwarts <PIG>’ about the new covers album that will be released on June 21, 2019 viaArmalyte Industries.  “It’s like a lure or precursor to something dark and dreadful … What is the interest due on that sinful pleasure and what is the true cost? A bit of a metaphor for our times.”

CANDY indulges the listener with covers of Prince (“Kiss”), Frankie Goes To Hollywood(“The Power of Love”), INXS (“Never Tear Us Apart”), among many others and blindsides you with surprisingly poignant and swanky versions of “Can’t Get You Out of My Head” (Kylie Minogue), “Two Become One” (Spice Girls), and “I Can’t Go For That” (Hall & Oates).

Aside from the standard CD and digital download version, there will be four additional and highly-collectible vinyl editions. The vinyl (which will only be available via www.armalyte.com) will come in the “Fur Edition” (numbered and signed by Raymond Watts and Eden Martin; quantity 30), the “Sand Paper Edition” (signed by Raymond; quantity 40), the “Candy Stripe Edition” (numbered and signed by Raymond; quantity 60), and the “Standard Deluxe Edition” (gatefold vinyl with a die cut sleeve on double, heavyweight vinyl with insert; quantity 170). In addition, track listing between the CD/digital version will differ slightly from the vinyl versions. Full track listing below.

“Making an album of covers was a natural progression from the single I did with Sasha Grey last year [‘That’s The Way I Like It’] and the charity EP of Christmas songs I did for International Rescue Committee,” says Watts. He wasn’t drawn to the obvious but the ‘overlooked’… the songs that he loves. “My versions are like a new takedown of the old order. I wanted to pull the originals apart to find a different foundation of exactly what lies beneath. The fact that these songs not only survive but thrive with this rebirth, reconstruction and reinterpretation shows their inherent greatness.”

< PIG > “That’s The Way (I Like It) feat. Sasha Grey”

“The song choice was very quick and easy,” he explains about the diverse track listing. “I’d either suggest something to Eden [Martin, producer and arranger] or he’d throw something into the mix, and we’d give it a go. Instead of following the cliched ‘American songbook’ route, we chose the ‘cheesy’ pop of Kylie and The Spice Girls because there is another layer and language in those songs the reveal the nature of obsession and longing that hasn’t really been explored. A song like ‘Can’t Get You Out My Head’, for example, could be as much the internal dialogue of an addict as it could be the tortured rambling of the freshly broken-hearted … or even the toe-tapping tune of the condemned.”

<PIG> have had a very exciting and active history since his beginnings in the late 80s.  He has been a visible part of the industrial music scene since the early 1980s. He was a founding member and lead singer with KMFDM through their most prolific and successful period from 1984-2003, Nine Inch Nails, Schaft, Schwein, and Einstürzende Neubauten, among others.  He has written music for fashion and film for Chloe, Marios Schwab, Halston, The Row and the sound design for the exhibit Punk: Chaos to Couture at NYC’s Metropolitan Museum of Art.  But the most ground-breaking and perhaps most rewarding was his collaboration with the late and immensely celebrated fashion icon Alexander McQueen who commissioned Watts and his old Psychic TV partner-in-crime John Gosling to embellish the serene instrumental track “Inside” (from <PIG>’s Genuine American Monster album). The fluid soundtrack to McQueen’s masterpiece, Plato’s Atlantis, the show was reprised after McQueen’s untimely death as the finale of Savage Beauty, the posthumous retrospective that broke all records at The Metropolitan Music of Art in New York and Victoria & Albert Museum in London.

CANDY will be released digitally on June 21, 2019 on all standard DSPs and the vinyl will be available exclusively via Armalyte.com.  Reflecting on the expansive and exhaustive process of putting this collection together, Watts concludes, “It’s not been a labor of Hercules making this record. It’s been a labor of love.”

CD Track Listing

1. Hopelessly Devoted To You (Olivia Newton-John)
2. One Day I’ll Fly Away (Randy Crawford)
3. You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feeling (The Righteous Brothers)
4. The Blower’s Daughter (Damien Rice)
5. Kiss (Prince)
6. Love Is In The Air (John Paul Young)
7. That’s The Way (I Like It) (KC & The Sunshine Band)
8. If You Go Away (Damita Jo)
9. Help Me Make It Through the Night (Kris Kristofferson)
10. I Can’t Go For That (No Can Do) (Hall & Oates)
11. The Power Of Love (Frankie Goes To Hollywood)
12. If He Swing By The String (Marlene Dietrich)
13. Wand’rin’ Star (Lee Marvin)
14. If I Can Dream (Elvis Presley)  

Deluxe Vinyl Track Listing

1. Hopelessly Devoted To You (Olivia Newton-John)
2. One Day I’ll Fly Away (Randy Crawford)
3. You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feeling (The Righteous Brothers)
4. Two Become One (The Spice Girls)
5. Kiss (Prince)
6. Love Is In The Air (John Paul Young)
7. Never Tear Us Apart (INXS)
8. The Blower’s Daughter (Damien Rice)
9. If You Go Away (Damita Jo)
10. Can’t Get You Out Of My Head (Kylie Minogue)
11. Help Me Make It Through the Night (Kris Kristofferson)
12. I Can’t Go For That (No Can Do) (Hall & Oates)
13. The Power Of Love (Frankie Goes To Hollywood)
14. At Seventeen (Janis Ian)
15. Wand’rin’ Star (Edit) (Lee Marvin)
16. If I Can Dream (Elvis Presley)
17. That’s The Way (I Like It) with Sasha Grey (KC & the Sunshine Band)
18. If He Swings By The String (Marlene Dietrich)